Hacking in the garage

scanning_ws_300Friend Michael Rosenberg came over last night and helped me arrange boxes so I could get to the boxes that hold my archives of 11×14 prints, negs et al. Sitting at a folding table, with a laptop and clamp-on lights, power coming from a dropped HD extension cord, I feel like a hacker in a boiler room somewhere.

The good news is that in an hour and 15 minutes I scanned in 27 prints, making uncompressed TIFFs and JPEGs of each file. The GT-15000 scanner takes less than a minute to make the scans, and VueScan takes a bit more than a minute to pull over the data and write out the 2 files to my networked G5 workstation.

So, if I’m conscientious, and work at it, I should be able to scan in 100 prints a week, which would get me to my 5000-print goal a year from now. I need a dust brush, and a few other small items to get going on neg and trans scans on the Nikon ED-9000. the GT-15000 scans, BTW, are very good quality, and clearly better than the ‘copy camera’ shots from the Lumix (this was true for film – photograps of photographs lose quality – and appears to be true for digital copies, too). Another piece of ‘new life’ drops into place…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, New Life, Photos, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

