Writing something

A number of readers have have been encouraging me to “write something,” if only to reassure them that I’m still here. Short answer is yup, we’re still answering the phone, as it were, at least when we can get to it, mobility being what it is.

As mentioned we’re still good from the neck up, thought the left side continues its slide. I’m in a wheelchair more often, now, if only because it makes Linda feel better, and still very grateful for the hemi-walker that Heidi found for me. Either way, the wheelchair ramp is a very welcome help.

The biggest difficulty I face now is the approximately 5-inch tall curb that surrounds my shower. A 3-year old can step over it effortlessly, but my increasingly paralyzed left leg can do so only with great difficulty – a situation which isn’t getting better. Linda has to help me get out of the shower all of the time now… we’re waiting for an assistive grab pole that may be a help. Just making our way…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, My Brain, New Life, The countdown. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Writing something

  1. DAVID ROCKEL says:

    Glad, to see that you had a posting yesterday, our prayers and thoughts are with you guys!

  2. I assumed the lack of posts was your trying to be more shadowy.

  3. cg says:

    A guy can never be too shadowy…

  4. Hi Chris (and Linda),
    So glad to hear from you. I’m happy when you write too. I’m happy you continue to make adjustments as your life changes. And I’m happy when we get to hear about Grace…what a darling.

    Keep on writing. We are happy to even receive trivia.

    Love,
    Beth

  5. Carol and Bob says:

    Chris. We keep you both in our thoughts and prayers. And, yes, we worry when you haven’t blogged. We hope you’re drinking the good stuff!
    Much love
    Carol

  6. Anonymous says:

    We see your shadowy Facebook posts. No ACRNM jacket for you.

  7. Frannie says:

    Glad to read “something” from you! Wow. I will think twice about that step into and out of the shower! Sending love. Frannie and Michael. It’s 6:30 Sunday eve, makes me think of the 5 with dinner after!

  8. Lynne says:

    You might want to check into something like this, kind of spendy, but it makes bathing a delight,

    http://www.premier-bathrooms.com/

Leave a Reply

