The way we are

The way we areThe day has come: we’re now in a power wheelchair. It arrived yesterday and we’ve been trying to get the hang of driving it with its joystick control.

So far, I’ve hit every wall in the house at least twice, and I crashed into a 16×20-inch picture frame, shattering the glass. I realized, belatedly that I was driving as if seated in a car, and leaving too much room on the right for the non-existent passenger side. Doing a little better this AM.

Lying on the floor yesterday, I realized that increasingly I am trapped in body hardware that is steadily breaking down. The CPU and software are still good, but that’s about it. I can walk a little, but it’s more difficult than even last week’s efforts. To be honest, this not fun.

Friend Dennis Nicholson came over for our Friday morning coffee confab, complete with fresh scones from Peet’s. Dennis is just back from hiking Zion Narrows with two friends. Looks like it was a great trip, wet feet notwithstanding. Dennis says the Canyon is only 12 feet wide in places and the water ranges from a few inches to waist deep. Once upon a time, I’d have jumped at the opportunity to make this trip.

Dennis also filled me in on Nathan Myhrvold’s latest project, a 6-volume “Modernist” cookbook that explains at some length the science behind each recipe. Starting to have some inkling of what Stephen Hawking‘s life must be like…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, My Brain, New Life, Technology, The countdown. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The way we are

  1. I can’t even imagine what you (and Linda) are going through, but I continue to wish you well and to send healing strength and qi to you.

    Love, Beth

  2. Alice/LPP says:

    Chris,
    Sorry to hear about your recent fall. I salute your courage. The power chair is of the new millenium – amazing thing. Your smile, the best. Lots of love to you and BPP,
    Alice

  3. Frannie says:

    Well, it sounds like today it’s a bit easier to get around in the wheelchair as you learn how to maneuver. Hope you can get to church. When I first got on a scooter I pressed the accelerator instead of the break and crashed headlong into a parked car. It was hard to get back on! So sorry to hear of the decreasing physical mobility. Glad you do have a motorized wheelchair and your mind and wit. What a gentle smile you have in your photo. Sending you love and prayers for Grace for you and Linda on this journey..
    Frannie

  4. Mary says:

    Chris:
    One Sunday after the best omelette in years, I tried to recreate it with goat cheese — OK, but it lacked a certain touch. Hope to see you tooling around in that new motorized monster of yours. No wheelies!
    I haven’t cracked open William Gibson yet, but he beckons me from the bedstand every night.
    Much love,
    Mary

Leave a Reply

