Ok, so this dying business isn't easy

[This post is written by Linda]

Over the years, Chris and I often talked about the potential negative consequence of being fit. Would years of jogging, hiking and walking keep the ole ticker going long after “the time had come.”

Such seems to be the case with Chris. But he is comfortable, sleeping and in no distress.

I can’t thank you all enough for the comments, calls, notes, emails and every other way you have reached out to us. Not just in the last week but over the last four years.

We are truly blessed to have you all in our lives.

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in My Brain. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Ok, so this dying business isn't easy

  1. Pierre says:

    Chris,

    I’m praying for you my friend for all your pains to go away and have a new body carry your big heart and pure soul.

    Love you,
    Pierre

  2. Brian Maggi says:

    Chris,

    I will never forget how you swept in and saved my hide from one of many Apple layoffs. Working for you was by far one of the best jobs, and experiences I ever had.

    You’re incredibly brave and I will be forever inspired by you.

    My family’s thoughts and prayers will be with you and your family as well.

    Love,
    Brian Maggi

  3. Jim Ruebsamen says:

    Dear Chris (and Linda),
    I just learned from Roger Vargo (Valley Daily News Photog) of your condition. I am taken aback at all of this. I have barely been in touch with anyone from the old Her/Ex days and I hear very little of comings and goings.

    It has been about six years since I saw the old Her/Ex Photogs at a reunion downtown. We posed for a picture, said hello, goodbye and goodluck and that was about it.

    Since then I have seen Dean Musgrove once or twice, Paul Chinn once, just about a month ago, and I have talked to Leo Jarzomb and Mike Mullen on the phone.

    I wish to take a moment to thank you for all you taught me while at the Her/Ex. What? You don’t remember teaching me anything. Well, you taught by allowing me watch you work in the studio and you answered quite a few questions for me. Your unselfish help and time proved so valuable to me. Finally, I get to say thank you for all you did for me.

    Suddenly our lives seem very pedestrian as I learn of your battle. I send my prayers to you and for you, hoping that the next steps will be calmer, quieter and easier for you. God bless you and I hope you will organize the DooDah Parade in Heaven because I will be ready to march with you once more, one of these days (I hope!).

    Sincerely with love,
    Jim Ruebsamen

  4. Thank you for the update. God bless you both, especially over the next little while

  5. terye levy says:

    My Dearest Chris,
    As I prepare for tomorrow, thinking of all that I have to accomplish, I think of you, laying peacefully in your bed, waiting to depart this world. You did it! Your achieved so much and you have touched so many people, as you have traveled through life. We are all so proud of you. Your grace and spirit has given us strength and courage. You are truly a unique individual. Your have always been a gentleman, classy and elegant. You have taught us so much through the years and your were a person we could always depend on. Thank you for attending Lauren and Jonathan’s wedding, it meant so much to us. We have loved sharing so many wonderful occasions with you and your family. You will always be in our hearts, we will never forget what you have given us!
    With much Love, Terye

  6. This company is the largest database management company. I have tried it. And everyone should too. You can get professional direct mail, telesales, database management, etc. it helped me in my business. Customised database

  7. Tony Gieske says:

    Ah, Chris. One of the top pros on the Herex, and you never objected to souping, as we say, the film I shot in my Pentax. And that helped put me out there as a jazz critic. Your stuff was national all the way, and you’re in my photo hero book along with Dick Darcy, Gene and Charlie Jones, Ira Rosenberg, Tony Berardi, Bill Sauro and maybe even Jill Krementz. So now you know about one more secret admirer, and you’re a brave lad.

  8. Marty Arscott says:

    Sooooooo much love surrounding that sparkly Chris who is waiting to take the next step and feeling, I think, very ready and not so sparkly in the earthly way right now but in his brilliant soul always alive. I am glad to have kissed your forehead last night, held your hand and arm and to have forced Linda to have a drink with me as you rested nearby.
    Abundant Love,
    Marty

  9. Anne Hurley says:

    Wow, all the comments here are so humbling and inspiring. I love you, Chris and Linda!

  10. WE are incredibly blessed to have you two in our lives.

  11. Gary Fong says:

    Chris and Linda,
    I continue to pray for both of you. I’m sure the Comforter is with you both. You’re in His hands…and a good place to be at that. agape, gary

  12. Libby Tigner says:

    Peace and grace be with you in these days. You are constantly on our minds, in our prayers.
    Gail and Libby

  13. Kevin and Pamela says:

    Linda,

    We send our love to you both — to Chris in these final days and also to you for your strength and your loving, unwavering support. You are constantly in our thoughts.

    Kevin and Pamela

  14. Kathi Titus says:

    Much love from an Oxy friend…you are in my thoughts.

  15. Richard Stayton says:

    I worked with Chris at the Los Angeles Herald Examiner during the 1980s. I covered the entertainment industry and whenever I was to interview a celebrity for a profile, I ALWAYS asked for Chris. He was the rare photographer who could circle me and Lee Marvin, shooting, making the extremely reluctant star feel comfortable. In 1985, when I discovered a recovering addict/alcoholic in Venice named Dennis Hopper, I asked for Gulker. And I told Chris, “interrupt whenever you have a question. Talk photography with him.” It worked. Chris was the best and today, as an editor for an entertainment business magazine, I NEVER invite photographers to talk and, if possible, try never to interview Hollywood celebrities with the photographer present. Only Chris had the sensitivity to actually enhance an interview. So now he’s photographing angels. Hope he invites me to accompany one of his shoots. But later rather than sooner.
    from RICHARD STAYTON, Editor in Chief, “Written By” magazine

Leave a Reply

