The stealth MRI…

Markers placed and stealht MRI in a trailerSo, here was today’s big procedure at UCSF. First, two young women attached nine things called Fiducial markers to my head, shaving a little hair, but greatly helped by my bald spot.

Then I was whisked to a large trailer parked at the hospital loading dock, into which was tucked a GE 1.5 Tesla Signa MRI machine, with all the gear to keep the superconducting magnet cold.

This time my head was taped down before being placed in the antenna/helmut, unlike the previous exercise, but I managed 30 minutes in the machine just fine, breathing deep breaths, counting the passage of time as I did the careful set of breathing – three deep and slow, followed three regular, and began counting each set of six breaths at about a minute.

I started to drift off at one point, put pulled myself back lest I move and goof up a study. Surgeons will use this study, carefully aligned to the markers attached to my head to very delicately dig around in my brain tommorrw. I wanted this scan to be as clean as possible.

I think I’m as anxious today as I am ever likely to be: I think if I can manage a closed MRI under these circumstances, I can probably get through one anywhere. I was even ready to have a seizure in this machine and not ruin the study. Kudos to cognitive therapy, with a little help from ativan…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, My Brain, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The stealth MRI…

  1. Shauna says:

    I stumbled on your website quite by accident when Googling brain tumors. I wanted to wish you well before your surgery (of course you might be reading this afterwards). My thoughts and prayers are with you. I recently (over the summer) underwent cranial surgery for a facial schwannoma the size of a lemon. I’m still recooping – but this experience has been one of the best of my life. I hope you have a similar experience. I will check back on you in the coming days.

  2. pauldwaite says:

    Now they are two very pretty medical professionals. And one hilariously grumpy-looking dude in front of them 🙂 Awesome.

  3. Pingback: www.gulker.com » Blog Archive » We’ve had better weeks

  4. Alice Carrott says:

    Chris,
    Think of you lots. Your pics and blog are really amazing. You are staying so well grounded in the face of disappointing news. Wish there was anything I could do – other than keep you and Linda close in prayers. I’m researching digital cameras for a future buy. So many models, my mind is swimming. What is your take on companies and cameras the size to go in purse??
    Hang tough and keep your hopful perspective.
    Alice

Leave a Reply

