Trial run: recalibrating the current version of me

The old corral and an Oak at Stanford

So yesterday, we took a spin around the block, and confirmed that, post op, I can walk. I have lost a bit on the left side, mainly in the left hand and forearm since the operation and start of radiation. Hard to know if any of those events, or just the continued growth of the tumor caused that. The good news is that I can walk: not as smoothly as before, and there’s a catch, or limp on the left side, but I can make my way. Today we tried the first longish post-op spin: I walked 2 of the 3 miles of the Lagunita loop we often transit with Cassie. Pic above shows the pretty November sky silhouetting an Oak and fencing at Stanford’s corral which is on this circuit.

That turned out to be a good first distance: about a mile and a half in, the left knee began to complain a little. Not everything on the left side works, so other muscles are taking up the slack where they can. I’m in the process of understanding what works and how I can, hopefully, strengthen some other muscles or relearn some motion. Doesn’t bother me if it’s a bit ugly, just so I can make a reasonable distance.

My pedometer and GMAPS Pedometer together told me my walking pace is just over 2 feet, or some six inches shorter than pre-tumor. 2.2 miles took almost erxactly an hour to walk, slower by about 10 minutes/mile from before. Not bad for a first outing: surgery was only five days ago, and I’m still dealing with a shelf full of anticonvulsants et al., along with attendant side effects

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, My Brain, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

