A shining path

Walking home from the train todayAs I made my way home from the Stock Farm stop on the Marguerite Shuttle’s B Line, I arrived at this very nicely lit scene. Minutes earlier, a small squall had raced through, bringing swirling winds, a noticeable drop in temperature and a light dusting of rain.

It reminded me of hiking trips in Yosemite with Linda’s father and namesake stepson John. John, the elder, would say no hike was complete without a storm, and he loved those moments as we quickly pitched our tents while the wind rose and whipped the bush and trees and you could smell the rain that was to come.

Looking at this picture in my den (aka gulker.com World HQ), it occurs to me that it tells my story just at the moment: uncertain sky, much darkness, but a shining path that I tred one step at a time. Forgive the amateur prose hour here, but this photo really does sync with my current state of mind

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, My Brain, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A shining path

  1. gfbird says:

    After all your experiences, how could such poetic conciseness be considered ‘amateur’?

    As for ‘no hike complete without a storm’, that plucks at the heartstrings – always another day for a hike, too. Then there is riding a bicycle in a storm . . .

Leave a Reply

