Blogs (this one anyway) are always better with pictures

Linda and Cassie on trail to Windy Hilll

winter_sky_oak.jpgLast night’s text posts just seemed kind of blah, graphically, so I used the opportunity of Linda, Cassie and I taking another old favorite hike – or actually a short part of it – to snap a couple of pix to perk things up.

This morning we drove to the parking lot at the foot of Windy Hill and did a 3.5 mile loop, steeper even than last week’s Arastradero hike that saw me huffing and puffing (but making my way) even as my very fit spouse climbed nonchallantly ahead of me. The good news is that this work, if i keep it up, will steadily build me back up to some kind of physical shape.

We walk 4 miles – albeit flat ones – on Adobe work days and 2.5 miles on work@home days for a respectable 17 miles per week plus whatever we do on weekends, so nominally just over 20 this week (vs the 30+ I was jogging previously). I have a ways to go, but the journey is begun.

Today’s hike was under a beautiful winter sky that changed by the minute. Now that the Lumix has a bag, with stuff like a polarizer in it, I’ll have to remember to throw it in the car for photo missions like today’s hike. The polarizer, and spare battery, would have been handy…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blogs (this one anyway) are always better with pictures

  1. Roger says:

    Nice! And that top one reminds me of one of my all-time favourite photos:
    The Walk to Paradise Garden.

  2. cg says:

    I’ve always loved that shot, too: it was the first picture he took after recovering from very serious injuries he’d received somewhere…

  3. Hi Chris,

    Making my weekly rounds in the blogosphere, and its great too hear your doing so well. I really don’t know you, except for your writing and photography on this blog, but who knows we may meet one day. Pictures do make a blog much nicer to view, and the photographs add a nice touch of you to the blog.

    I see you are a walker. I’m walking with a group of bloggers in ten days, we’re only walking seven miles, but it will be a blast meeting one another face to face for the first time.

    Stay positive,
    Edward
    Los Angeles Times

  4. cg says:

    Thanks for the note, Edgar… my inbox and these pages have been a great source of encouragement on this journey…. Enjoy the 7-miler…!

Leave a Reply

