Sunday morning TX musing…

Avedon darker

This is why I like Tri X. I snapped this photo of Richard Avedon (one of my photo heroes) on a bus bench in West Hollywood in the 70s. The image you see here is a scan from a contemporaneous 11×14-inch print, and it’s been through various digital manipulations to arrive on the blog: looking at the print is a better experience.

But the image above communicates some of the qualities that I love about Tri X: the grain, the gray ramp (a little hard to get right, given various browsers’ gamma et al.) the way detail pops. OK, OK, enough Tri X for a bit….

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday morning TX musing…

  1. kanani says:

    I love your site! Recently, I purchased a book on Avedon’s “In the American West” show that was shown again last year in Ft. Worth. His then-assistant and subsequent long time friend, Laura Wilson, wrote a book about their experiences. I also have almost all of her fine photography books. I envy you for having met him. It’s like my friend Rocky, who upon me telling him about the Ansel Adams museum print collection being shown at the Bowers Museum in Santa Ana, said, “Oh, you know I met him at his studio and photographed him a long, long time ago.”

    Anyway, thanks for sharing that photo.

  2. cg says:

    I went to his America West show at Stanford last week. This portrait suddenly looks different in light of that visit…

Leave a Reply

