Good tools

Corona tools

These Corona garden tools came home from the Roger Reynolds nursery 2 weeks ago: they’ve been a great help. The long handles mean I can sit on my rolling garden cart and reach the centers of the planting boxes.

The tools are an accomodation to current limitations: they help me get work done more easily than I might otherwise have. Thinking about that in the garden this morning, I came to the realization that, at some point, one just has to accept the limitations imposed by circumstance. The reality is that I’m a cancer side effects train wreck at the moment, there’s lots of things I can do only slowly, and sometimes imperfectly, good tools notwithstanding.

As badly as I want to have something I can feel good about, the reality is when I try to help sometimes, it makes others’ lives harder. Better, I guess, just to stay out of things like that: people around me already have their hands full.

So this AM I went off to the garden, alone, after a Cassie walk, and finished up some planting – it took forever, but I got it done – before harvesting baby greens for tonight’s dinner. So I have a little something to start the day feeling good about: and that’s been a scarce resource of late. I should look for more things like this things I can do solo without bothering those around me…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Dotcom Garden, My Brain, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

