More flowers

Roses adjusted in Color Bender

These two roses caught my eye, shining in the morning light, as Cassie and I made our way around the block this morning. I used George Dalke’s Color Bender to process the image – everything from adjusting the levels and color – including using the region controls to adjust the bright flowers – to reducing the image from 10 megapixels down to blog size, sharpening et al. The image is from my Lumix DMC-FZ50.

Color Bender really helped preserve detail in the mid tones and highlight areas: compared to the sliders in iPhoto, which just blow out detail in the highlights and shadows when you make relatively large moves. I also like the quality of the downsampling and sharpening tools. Next up: making some prints from Color Bender…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Dawn Community, Photos, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More flowers

  1. Chris:

    I was recalling the other day a terrific shoot you did in 1979 or 1980, for the Herald Exterminated’s Sunday Magazine on inexspensive dining in Metro Los Angeles. The shoot featured two reprobates with which I was familiar…Willy Bowman and Joseph Ferris. By any chance have you a copy of that around?

  2. cg says:

    You know, I may… let me see if I can dig it out…

  3. You ought to put that one up on your blog…..

Leave a Reply

