Not just a celeb photog….

Tanker fire, North Hollywood, 1970s

I really was just a daily newspaper photog in the 70s – shooting everything from high school football to the Pope. A day’s assignments could be anything: the picture above show’s what’s left of a double gasoline tanker, after it overturned and burst into flame in what proved to be a horrific accident. I had been shooting a feature – the elusive Jerry Lee Lewis had turned up at a San Fernando Valley honky-tonk for a gig, and somehow the Herald Examiner music writer got word, and my boss had begged, cajoled and somehow talked me into a Saturday night shift.

On the way back downtown, I saw the sky light up in front of me: the freeway started to back up, and L.A. pro that I was in those days, I got off and followed side streets until I was close, then climbed over the freeway fence and approached the intense heat as nearly as I could. I shot maybe 2 rolls before I was moved back by police, and headed back to the paper. As I recall, competitor LA Times didn’t have a picture… this may have been front page…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Photos, Technology, Weblogging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

