Looking at Annie L's 'A Photographer's Life'

A Photographer's Life on my nightstand

Annie Liebovitz‘ very fine book ‘A Photographer’s Life’ arrived last Christmas. At the time, recently diagnosed with a brain tumor, I was very interested in her documentation of partner Susan Sontag’s death, hoping it would help me with the task of dealing with and visualizing my own shortened mortality horizon. I thumbed through the Sontag pages, then put the book up on a shelf as I set off to go back to work at Adobe with high hopes and spirit and feeling an oncological kinship with Elizabeth Edwards and Newsweek’s Jonathan Alter.

Now, 3 weeks out of Adobe, I’m trying to bring a richness back into my new life. One of the many things I’m trying to do is bring fine photography and writing into my daily routine. So I’ve put Annie’s book on my bedstand, and now, morning and night I spend a few minutes flipping pages and enjoying her wonderful images, no matter how busy the day will be or has been. I will go forth on the N Judah Wednesday, much inspired and hoping to pick up that project where it left off last winter…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, My Brain, New Life, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

