Dinner with the Gulkers

Chilean Sea Bass, braised vegetablesSo, one of the things I used to enjoy was preparing dinner parties with friends where I would play amateur chef, and spend the better part of a day prepping, cooking and otherwise getting a fun dinner together.

Since cancer, chemo, steroid myopathy et al. have become my norm, I don’t have the stamina or strength to do dinner parties. Which is too bad because I really enjoyed them.

However, in the last month, as I’ve responded to the physical rehab (and, possibly, reduced steroids and new Avastin chemo) I’m back to cooking once or twice a week. Mind you, these are simpler dishes than I once attempted – often a 1-pan braise or a quick grilled salmon, but it’s a contribution (and one thing less for my poor overwhelmed spouse to do).

So last night we tried the first installment of ‘Dinner with the Gulkers,’ where we invite friends, and they just come and eat what we’re having. I just braise or grill 2 more of whatever we’re having (Sea Bass last night), and chop another cup or so of vegetables. Good friends understand it’s just a get-together, and an excuse to open some good wine. Mike and Cathy were the guinea pigs last night… worked out well, I think… I had fun…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, My Brain, New Life, Podcast. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dinner with the Gulkers

  1. cg says:

    This was the last, great ‘tomato’ dish… we picked up the tomato fad in Paris in May.

Leave a Reply

