Greetings from ORD

Board of Visitors meeting WRA

Tim Linda 225 pxWe’ve been in Hudson, Ohio for the past couple of days, where I’ve been attending a Board of Visitors meeting at my prep school, Western Reserve Academy. I’ve been on the board for going on 5 years, now, and missed last year’s meeting, thanks to events surrounding the discovery of my cancer. I’m sitting at O’Hare airport (3-hour connection) catching up the blog.

This year I picked up pretty much where I left off 2 years ago. Colleagues and dear friends Leslie and Priscilla Graham (with whom we stayed) greeted me warmly, before we got down to our assignment, looking at Reserve’s science curriculum. We talked to faculty and students, looked over Reserve’s impressive facilities and held several lively debates. We’ll roll everything up into a report to the Board of Trustees.

Ohio’s 2nd best restaurant (according to Zagat) is in Hudson, so Leslie (aka Timmy), Linda and I ate there Friday night. Called Downtown 140, it truly was a very good restaurant, on a par with good Bay Area restaurants. Tim and Linda both dressed in flowing mufti, and I enjoyed walking around with two good looking blondes.

Saturday we were off for a night in Cleveland, where we ate at Lola, Ohio’s 3rd best restaurant, featuring Iron Chef competitor Michael Simon. It, too, was very good. We’ve had a lot of fun… I feel like I got a little bit of my life back… more TK….

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, New Life, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

