A sad chore

cassie_mug.jpgWe’re off to the vets to see our dear dog Cassie for the last time. She’s been failing in recent months, and took a sudden turn for the worse a couple days ago.

The hardest part of having a wonderful pet is always making the hard decisions at the end, and the better the dog, the harder the decision. Cassie’ vet is a sweet dog-loving person (she has an Aussie), and when she suggested it was time, it just confirmed what I already knew.

Still, it’s hard, for me anyway. She was a great dog, right to the end.

I know it’s the right thing to do, but it breaks my heart, nevertheless…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A sad chore

  1. Lonn says:

    A sad time for you, but many happy memories make it easier. My sister is preparing for similar times with her dog of fourteen year – very difficult, but the right thing to do. Cassie had a long and good life with you.

  2. Timbo says:

    Chris & Linda, what a terrible moment for you. But remember all the good times, and the happiness that you all shared together. Farewell Cassie.

  3. cg says:

    Thanks for the kind words… she was a great dog, the best I ever knew…

  4. Rob J says:

    Sorry to hear Chris. I know it’s not at all easy. I went through the same thing Jan 2004.

  5. My words cannot fill the void the two of you are feeling at this time…

    Peace be with you,
    Edward

  6. Tim says:

    Chris and Linda,

    I am sorry to read of Cassie’s passing. Her life was very precious to both of you and we are lucky to have you sharing her, in life and in death, in blogs and in photos, on runs and in joy, with us. Rest peacefully Cassie. My condolences to both of you at this difficult time.

    Tim

  7. Stuart says:

    My heart goes out to you both; Cassie was a lovely dog and warm pet! I had to put down my cat of 15 years last summer; I still open the front door expecting her to be there…. Perhaps your feelings are the necessary shadow side of a genuine love, expressed devotedly over many years. So good for you… and blessings and love.

Leave a Reply

