Tech break

Duo mini with heat discoloration, lacie drive

iPhone and TreoSo we’re trying to fix a couple of nagging tech issues today. One is a LaCie drive, that despite being returned 3 times, still makes an annoying fan noise. Having pulled out the LaCie and the (Core Duo) Mini it sits under, we discover that the Mini’s underside is discolored from heat (seen above), heat which is coming from the Mini, not the LaCie.

In fact, the discolored area is hot to the touch: I’m guessing the LaCie’s fan regulation sensor is close to the hot spot, and this causes the noise problem. I’ve been running the LaCie away from the Mini for a couple hours, with no problem.

The other annoying problem has been syncing my Treo with my Mac aftewr moving off the Good software package and Exchange. I was amazed to see the crufty, hard to configure ‘conduit’ software that I wrestled with almost a decade ago still mediating the Treo sync. Despite past experience with the plethora of ways in which the Palm sync software will fail, I could not get the Treo to sync to my Mac address book (though it would do other, useless things like back up its software).

The solution was easy here: I bought an iPhone (it’s my birthday), plopped it in its USB cradle, and everything just worked. My address book is there, my iTunes are there, and I’m going to move my family photos over shortly. Love it when things just work…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Apple, Photos, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tech break

  1. Ah, welcome to the club.

  2. Oh, and many happy returns!

  3. Pingback: www.gulker.com » Blog Archive » We try a low-tech fix for our high-tech problem

  4. cg says:

    Thank you…!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Now that GOOG & AAPL are down 40%, it’s time to put our money where our love is.

  6. Pingback: www.gulker.com » Blog Archive » Another drive goes down

Leave a Reply

