Return to Big Dish

Tree, Academic Preserve

Big Dish and skyWe returned to Stanford’s Academic Preserve (aka The Big Dish) today for the first time in many months. My mobility, while still pretty slow-paced, has improved enough (since last December’s low point) to allow me to return, and walk for an hour, at some of my very favorite venues.

I’ve stopped obsessing on how, for 17 years, I jogged briskly along these trails here, running 5 miles in the time it now takes me to wobble a half-mile. Instead, I was grateful just to be in the air and sun, reacquainting myself with favorite places.

The cedar (I think) above has a shape and wild aspect that I’ve always appreciated. Big Dish, itself, is pointed up (it was straight up a couple days ago), prompting me to wonder what mission it may be pursuing.

As noted, the day was gorgeous: Linda walked 3 miles or more briskly while I made my way to the cow guard about 1/3 of the way up the Piers Lane side of the hill. Some cheery members of the herd who inhabit the springtime pasture here were there to greet me…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Dawn Community, New Life, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

