The new Mac Pro comes to life

Mac Pro open

So, we’ve been slowly getting the new Mac Pro together: I ordered RAM from Other World Computing ($350 vs. around $2,000 from Apple), moved over the hard drives from my former imaging workstation (now Linda’s computer), downloaded vital updates and software and otherwise been provisioning the new machine. Tomorrow we’ll do the (for me) hard stuff: get on the floor and get all the cables et al connected.

I’ve thought this through and made a Fry’s run to get extender cables et al. so I can deal with future upgrades just by pulling the tower out from its perch under the World HQ counter – the Mac Pro has glides on the base that make it easy to slide on our hardwood floors. This machine is very fast…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Apple, Photos, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The new Mac Pro comes to life

  1. Lamar Van Gunten says:

    Good stuff. Very techno fearless. When you are up and running please come over and help me get my brand new Apple Time Capsule working with my legacy PC and the also new Apple MacBook. Yes, we are “switchers”. I can wirelessly do email and web surfing from the Mac, but are also supposed to do file sharing with the PC. So far, Not.

  2. Wil says:

    I seriously love mine. I use vmware fusion on the machine to run concurrent to the Mac OS an XP session, a solaris session, and a Windows 2k server.

    All that and I still play world of warcraft at the same time!

  3. cg says:

    Lamar – sure, just say when…

Leave a Reply

