A walk through Arastradero

Deer spotted in Arastradero

Thistles in ArastraderoA deer and her fawn greeted me as I made my way along a dirt path through Palo Alto’s Arastradero Preserve this morning. I was much anticipating this, only my third visit to the Preserve since cancer struck. The park’s flora is now in full, gold-and-green summer dress.

I was eager to try out my new muscles and body that has begun to shed the proximal weakness caused by steroid therapy (which was necessitated to treat brain swelling caused by radiation therapy – cancer gets complicated in a hurry).

The trail did not disappoint, with a steep section that proved to be a challenge to descend and then climb back up. I walked a little under 2 miles, took some 9000 steps (2000 more than I would take on a flat path).

I felt accomplished when I made it back to the car almost at the same time as Linda, who had jogged more 5 miles in the same 75 minutes or so. Then it was off to Mike’s for omelettes and coffee…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Dawn Community, New Life, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

