Wall-E courtesy Pixar/DisneyThis has been a wonderful 4th of July. It started Thursday afternoon with a movie-and-dinner date with spouse Linda. We saw Wall-E: the first 45 minutes may be as good movie-making as I’ve seen, and the rest of the film isn’t bad, either. I’ve decided Wall-E, who repairs himself when need be, is my new mascot.

The 4th started with a nice Baylands walk, described in the post below, followed by a family-and-friends BBQ. Yes, darling granddaughter Grace was in attendance. Ours was the only house on Oak Knoll Lane with a flag BTW: we may be old-school left-wingers, but we fly the flag, sometimes proudly. I think the last 7 years have put a lot of locals, normally a Republican bunch, off of government and displays of patriotism.

Saturday dawned, and new walking buddy Scott Loftesness and I circumnavigated Sharon Park for a half-hour. Scott’s looking to start walking regularly, and I’m appreciating company as I begin to walk without my cane. This is looking like a good hookup, as my stepson would say. Late afternoon saw us at Shoreline Amphitheatre for the Stevie Wonder concert: there were a lot more young people than I would have predicted… and the show was great.

This morning, Linda marched me 2.5 miles around San Francisquito Creek (a new gulker.com land distance record). We discussed 2 front-page NYT articles: one about Avastin, a chemotherapy drug that has worked wonders for me – apparently others don’t see the same benefit and insurers are reluctant to pay for it (my doctors had to skirmish with my insurer before they started paying for it) and a story about a newly-deciphered ancient text from the first century BC, which nevertheless mentions a messiah who dies and returns after 3 days. Dinner at Mike’s (I had the chicken pot pie) capped a great weekend… picture courtesy Disney/Pixar…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Dawn Community, New Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Anonymous says:

    Millions of people investing billions of dollars on mp3 players, iPhones, & amphitheater tickets to hear the same 30 year old Stevie Wonder songs is enough to put anyone off of patriotism.

  2. cg says:

    Now, there’s a cheery thought… but I LIKE 30-year-old Stevie (and other) songs…

  3. Pingback: New company : www.gulker.com

Leave a Reply

