The good and bad about transparency

Scott Loftesness, Tiger Lily and Chris on their morning roundsWe recently wrote about our latest health news, which prompted a minor flood of concerned email from friends and colleagues, though I wasn’t quite sure why. One comment was that it ‘didn’t sound like Chris.’

I’ll repeat that the news was very good for a person with glioma. The tumor is stable, indeed a faint shadow of its pre-radiation-and-chemo self.

I did admit to feeling glum, one of the few times I’ve chosen to write about the depression that comes and goes, a common cancer side effect. Like most of the other unfortunate symptoms of this disease, I’m used to it, and have a strategy for managing it (the Wall-E philosophy, in this case).

I’m a big fan of being transparent and open, but sometime it has unintended consequences – I really didn’t mean to alarm anyone – this is just my life these days. Taken on balance, it’s a very good life.

Anyway, walking partners Scott Loftesness, Tiger Lily and I were up bright and early, making our rounds this morning. One day at a time… photo by Linda Hubbard Gulker…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Dawn Community, My Brain, New Life, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The good and bad about transparency

  1. Pingback: drquality.com » Blog Archive » The good and bad about transparency

  2. Christa Ellis says:

    Hi Chris – Just wanted to tell you that you are my hero. Mr. Hubbard gave me your website many years ago, and sometimes I go into it in my lunch time. Your computer related articles are over my head, but all other comments about your health, travel and family are read with great interest. Keep on fighting! Who knows you might just conquer this thing with your exceptional attitude.

    Christa
    (Mr. Hubbard’s secretary)

  3. Pingback: Finally, a blog post : www.gulker.com

  4. Pingback: Big dish, big deal

Leave a Reply

