15 minutes of Silicon Valley fame for the 'Influential Blogger'

Influential Blogger badge from Stanford SummitWe were sitting at lunch at the AlwaysOn Summit yesterday, talking to IBM Capital‘s Drew Clark, when Alexandra Johnson, a partner at Draper Fisher Jurvetson sat down next to us. I’m running a digital voice recorder, capturing Drew’s ideas, so it looks like he and I are in some sort of heavy discussion.

Most of the Summit’s participants are startup people looking for funding and other resources: all eyes – and there are maybe 400 people at this luncheon – tend to gravitate to people like Drew and Alexandra. And there I was, sharing the stage as it were.

Many in the small coterie who were hovering closest to us more-or-less furtively glanced at my badge trying to figure out ‘who is this guy?’ Earlier, at the registration desk I asked for a badge to replace the one I’d left at home. When asked what my job title was, I whimsically piped up with ‘influential blogger,’ which prompted a laugh from the AlwaysOn staff. And there I briefly was, Mr. Influential Blogger, object of many stares, rubbing shoulders with the Big Dogs.

Drew and Alexandra eventually withdrew to have a private conversation, and the covey of startup types thinned out considerably. When I started to leave, the combination of soft turf and a very rickety folding chair proved a challenge to my gaining, but still imperfect balance and strength. Unbidden, a very nice guy named John Ince (‘that’s like Prince, but without the PR’) from PodVentureZone helped me to my feet. Back to Earth, but, heh, a pretty good morning…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, New Life, Stanford Summit, Weblogging. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 15 minutes of Silicon Valley fame for the 'Influential Blogger'

  1. Anonymous says:

    Someday they’re going to discover humans contributing to increasing global gravity.

  2. cg says:

    Hmmm… how to monetize that? Got a biz plan?

Leave a Reply

