Woo-hoo!

MRI taken September 9, 2008Here’s a picture of a slice of my brain from a MRI made this morning at UCSF’s Parnassus radiology facility, an image created after about 30 minutes in an (upgraded) 3 Tesla GE Signa MRI machine. The faint brightness in the lower left quadrant shows the current state of my stage 3 glioma. (you can see a comparison of the original tumor and a more recent image here).

The tumor and associated ‘flair’ (damage caused by the tumor and radiation therapy) are just visible: more importantly, today’s MRI looks a lot like the last 10 or so MRIs. The tumor isn’t growing – indeed, it’s very faint, and has been that way since I began taking Avastin infusions about a year ago.

Avastin therapy for brain tumors is still new territory – there’s only about a year or so experience to draw from. It’s difficult to know when it’s ‘safe’ to change dosage or stop using it.

I had been wanting to ask Dr. Susan Chang, my neuro-oncologist, about going to monthly, from twice-monthly  Avastin infusions. Before I could ask, she suggested I stop Avastin altogether, but continue taking MRIs every six weeks, as well as monitoring my body for signs of neurological changes – I’m a more sensitive diagnostic tool than the MRI. So, woo-hoo! I’m freed from the biweekly ‘chemo tether.’ Now, about that house in the south of France…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, My Brain, Photos, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Woo-hoo!

  1. Amy Bayersdorfer says:

    Chris,
    This is fantastic news! congratulations.

    Hope to catch up in person one of these days.

  2. Lonn says:

    Chris – absolutely amazing news – very happy for you!

  3. cg says:

    Can you tell we’re ecstatic… Woo-hoo deux fois…

  4. Sara says:

    Wow, Chris, this is so great. And I was going to leave a comment yesterday giving Heidi some credit for where you are and I can see your thoughts took the same track (no pun intended!). Keep up the good work, I mean exercise!!! I’m delighted for you.

  5. Stuart Rosenberg says:

    Congratulations Chris. Maybe we can finally do that gourmet dinner. Stuart

  6. Ginna says:

    Bravo! This is great news, Chris. I’m SO happy for you!!!!

  7. Ray Murphy says:

    Chris – this is fantastic news. We have all been thinking of you here!

  8. Helen T. Gregory says:

    Fantastic news, Chris. It is truly amazing to see what you have accomplished.
    Helen

  9. Rip Rense says:

    Chris—Very fabulous indeed. Avastin, matey. I will pass this along to my neighbor who has just been diagnosed with a malignancy in the brain and is badly in need of encouraging news. You’re a champ.—Rip

Leave a Reply

