John W. Hubbard, 1911 – 2008

John Getze, John Hubbard and I in Yosemite

John Getze, John Hubbard and I in the Sierras

My father-in-law John Hubbard, a guy I dearly loved, just passed away. John, in the picture above, was in his late 70s, and leading me, stepson John and a friend on a 60-mile hike through Sierra back country.

John was much beloved by his family, his friends and colleagues and in the extended community. He will be missed by many…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to John W. Hubbard, 1911 – 2008

  1. David Rockel says:

    Chris & Linda, Karen just called and told me. I am sorry for your loss. Uncle John was very special to all of us, and will always be remembered. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you.
    David

  2. Janice & Bruce Rockel says:

    Linda & Chris
    We have very fond memeories of visiting with your Mom & Dad at Karen & David’s wedding and their
    very warm hospitality when we visted CA for the very first time and many times after. Their home was always open for us. Your Dad’s toast and words at Karen & David’s rehearsal dinner were a highlight of that very special evening.
    A fine gentlmen and to know he is at peace now with other family members is a Blessing we are sure.
    Warmest regards,
    Jan & Bruce Rockel

  3. Barbara Dubin says:

    Chris and Linda,

    I didn’t find out about Uncle John until tonite. He was my surrogate father, and a powerful reminder of my mother because of the love and joy he exuded whenever I – or others – would come to say hello or visit. He simply helped to make the world a better place. I’m comforted to know he’s in an even better place with his beloved wife, sisters, his mother and father, my dad, and the many others he loved.

    Roger, Erin, Jaid and I all send our warmest wishes to your lovely family. May there much peace and love for all of you at this difficult time. And what an uplifting photo!

    Barby

  4. Christa Ellis says:

    Linda and Chris:

    I am so sad that Mr. Hubbard passed away, but also happy because he is in a better place. I was Mr. Hubbard’s secretary for five years in the early seventies. It was my first real secretarial job in this country, and probably the best time of my entire working career. He taught me so much, professionally and personally. I was very lucky that he hired me and remained my friend for so many years. He had a good life because he was always positive, only saw the best in people and situations.

    Reece, Melitta (our daughter) and I are sending you our condolences and best wishes.

    Christa

Leave a Reply

