The relationship between fatigue and exercise

fatigue_graphics_460.jpg

fatigue_panel_225.jpgPhysical trainer Heidi Engel invited me to be on a panel of cancer patients to discuss fatigue, a very common and vexing symptom, last Thursday. I promised to bring ‘sophisticated computer graphics‘ illustrating my experience with fatigue (pictured).

Basically, when I was exercising not at all, in the wake of radiation therapy, chemotherapy and high-dose corticosteroid therapy, I would frequently become very tired in the afternoon, and often nap for 90 minutes or more. The long naps sometimes meant I had trouble sleeping, adding to the fatigue the following day – not a good situation. Now that I exercise 90 minutes every day, I rarely nap at all. The curve-fitting above is a bit amateurish, but both sets of endpoints are true. The more I exercise, the better I feel… photo by Linda Hubbard Gulker

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, My Brain, New Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

