Tri-X, on a whim

oak_txp.jpg

On a whim, I bought 5 rolls of Tri-X pan film the other day. I used to live and breathe Tri-X when I worked for a Los Angeles daily some 20 years ago. I’d been a bit vexed by the cumbersome viewfinder that came with the Leica 16-21mm zoom that arrived two Christmases ago.

Realizing that the viewfinder was calibrated for the film, not the digital, Leicas, I pulled down my old M4 body (It may have been on the shelf for ten years), performed the once-familiar ritual of loading the camera (it’s all but impossibly hard), screwed it up first time around, then reloaded, this time correctly.

So I hauled the camera around Saturday morning snapping random scenes,later dropping the film at Keeble and Shuchat for processing. One shot, a study of the oak next to our driveway is above, other pix are on Picasaweb. Remember grain?

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tri-X, on a whim

  1. heidi engel says:

    geeze Chris,
    Just yesterday I set out with my Leica to capture my neighborhood on the black and white film I still can’t live without, considered taking the wide angle lens, but have been so uninspired by my results with that lens thus far, I left it home. Now that I see your shots, I am considering giving it another try.
    I am impressed with your hand dexterity for loading film. A new exercise for the regimen perhaps?
    see you soon,
    Heidi

  2. gulker says:

    Heidi – by all means give it a try… you do extremely well with normal-angle, so I don’t want to trip up that very fine work. But, sometimes (as you’ve so often said to me) it’s good to stretch and try something that wasn’t easy at first go…

  3. Roger says:

    Ahhh, Tri-X… those were the days, my friend!

Leave a Reply

