Keeping a promise

can_food.jpgThere is a guy, I’d call him homeless, who often can be found at the corner of (South) California Avenue and Birch Street in Palo Alto, who’s carved out a kind of perch replete with the sign you see here.

Shortly after I bought the new Zeiss lens two weeks ago, my path back to the car took me past his roost, and I snapped what I thought was a respectful picture.

Today, while searching for Bob, the construction worker I’d photographed near here last Wednesday (I had the print I’d promised him) I came upon the corner spot, unattended.

As I snapped this shot a voice hailed me from behind: “Hey, put my sign on the Internet, former high tech executive now homeless!” I turned to see the tall, heavy-set, fully-bearded guy I’d seen sitting here previously. We talked briefly, and then each went about our respective days. As promised, here’s the sign, on the Internet. I think we need to explore further… I have lots of questions…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, New Life, Photos, Taking Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

