One of those days

L1003168_225.jpgWe headed off to the Menlo Park Library this morning, which friend Scott says is a very pleasant place to work. I had the netbook, Leica, iPhone, Kindle and all my other tools in my trusty (if beat) official Wall-E satchel. I was going to apply for a library card, and hook up to the Library’s wireless service, and then work on a new photo project.

The check engine light was on in Linda’s car, so the plan was to hit the library while the guys at Menlo Chevron checked it out. But, lo, we were greeted at the library with the sign you see here: Tuesday is the only weekday that sees the library open at noon. Sheesh… 11:22:19 AM

Spinning my wheels, it seems, today: got home just in time for the mop-and-vacuum-cleaner chaos of our house-cleaning crew to descend, off their usual schedule for some unexplained reason, so went back downtown to do a few chores, none of which worked out particularly well. I did bump into Scott, and one of his consultancy partners Russ Jones, so we had lunch at Caffe Borrone, which, as always, was booming. Scott and Russ tipped me to the Safari 4 beta which has a cover flow interface for history and bookmarks… 1:41:15 PM

photo(2)_225.jpgThis is Lester Burdle: we met near the Caltrain station yesterday after my trip to the City. Newly arrived from Indiana, he asked if I knew where the nearest homeless shelter might be.

I was embarrassed: I knew about the Shelter Network, which our church, Trinity, supports, but I couldn’t help Lester figure out which bus to take or give him even more than vague directions. My Leica had somehow not made it on my City trip, so I snapped Lester with my iPhone, part of a project that I have in mind as my lenten offering this year. Lester thanked me, and limped off to ask some other folks… 2:03:08 PM

Automation: the two (now 3) pictures in this post were automatically exported and sized via Automator actions. I select a photo in in iPhoto, then run the action from the Scripts menu, and a resized photo appears (usually) on my desktop. I’m so proud… first timestamps, now automated photo workflow… 2:27:52 PM

P1120311_225.jpg My new Kindle 2.0 just arrived. It comes in minimal, completely recycled packaging (yay!) and only took a minute to move content – half-read books, newspaper and magazine subscriptions – over to the new machine. It’s iPod thin and light, and I like the new page turn buttons and nav device much better than the 1.0 version. The old one is going to precocious cousin Thomas in Potter Valley… 5:06:16 PM

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, New Life, Photos, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One of those days

  1. David Rockel says:

    Chris, that is very nice of you giving Thomas your old kindle. You guys do so much for us and we really appreciate it. David P.S I will have some more wine for you on the next visit.

  2. cg says:

    Woo hoo… I’m in Ft. Worth, but will ship Kindle Monday…

Leave a Reply

