Sunrise to sunset

sunrise.jpgThe sky was pretty as Scott, Lily and I set off on our 1.5 mile Tour de Menlo this morning. I had a Nikon along with me this time around – I haven’t used them in a while and I want to keep my skills up. It’s a different experience from using the Leica.

Sirens and helicopters in the distance caused Scott to pull out his iPhone and discover that there seemed to be a fire at 1050 University Ave., the building that houses Peet’s Coffee in downtown Menlo. I marveled, for about a second, at how useful ‘cellphones’ had become. Mobile is just here, Chris, get used to it.

Scott is going to a class called the ‘Zen of Presentation‘ (ooops… make that ‘Presentation Reboot‘ – I got it wrong), given by 2 PowerPoint aces, which class, reportedly, uses no computers. Be interesting to hear what Scott learns. In any case, we had to cut our coffee chat short. Seems like all my friendships are moderated by coffee rituals these days… 8:51:30 AM

borrone_counter.jpg

Speaking of coffee, the staff at Cafe Borrone were cheery this morning – I had to kill some time while spouse’s car was being smogged. No reliable WiFi at Borrone so I took out the Kindle and read another chapter of Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers. You can be great at anything, from violin to hockey to law, if you’re willing to put in 10,000 hours practicing it… 2:02:04 PM

Time to put the corned beef on. Using Mark Bittman’s recipe… 3:16:51 PM

Scott says (or shows) that his presentation class did use computers. Figures… 3:22:08 PM

Just put my Twitter feed in the far right sidebar. Is this a good idea…? 4:03:03 PM

Where does the day go? I just made a list of 13 things I did today, from smogging the car to blogging to cooking dinner to Twittering, and I’m still missing four hours. Time warp? Parallel universes stealing time? Hawking radiation? Do tell… 7:48:08 PM

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Dawn Community, Weblogging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

