Light and shadow

porch_shadow_2.jpg

Here’s a snap made on the front porch of our hotel at Cavallo Point last Saturday. I’m looking at including a version of this photo in a collection of pictures called the Light and Shadow series (yet another new Gulker Photo Archive project). It occurs to me I have been photographing shadows for some 40+ years… 8:55:23 AM

Recycling my brain: yesterday we finished the 40th installment of the Posit Science brain exercise. This is software based brain plasticity research concepts developed by by UCSF’s Michael Merzenich.

I have noticed that I seem to be hearing conversations in noisy environments (like restaurants) a bit better (the software focuses on auditory processing) and can remember strings of things (like phone numbers) better – both of which benefits were noted in clinical trials of the software. I’m trying to decide if I’m thinking faster – jury is still out on that one.

I tested right at median for my age when I started the course, and finished with improvements of 26% to 50% in various tasks like discriminating between very similar sounds and syllables, memory tests and comprehension exercises. They say that right after finishing the course is a good time to start learning a new language, so I’m starting the Berlitz French course on my Mac and iPhone… 9:30:09 AM

Apple patents secrecy. Heh, tip from Lynn Greiner 9:42:43 AM

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Photos, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Light and shadow

  1. Rick Brown says:

    Hey, isn’t studying French cheating a little? I thought you already spoke it (or was that leet?). Shouldn’t try something a little more challenging…

  2. cg says:

    Yeah, I sorta, kinda speak French, but I’m awfully rusty… I want to take it up a notch… I’m planning to spend the month of May in Ameugny, a tiny village in the southern Burgundy region.

    As for l33t, it wasn’t on the Berlitz list… though I think Google has been localized in l33t… don’t think it would help much in Ameugny…

Leave a Reply

