Team Spike and me

mevatron_rtx.jpg

In the very dark days following my glioma diagnosis, as I was dealing with the rapidly advancing paralysis of my left side and the debilitating side effects of radiation, chemotherapy, steroids and powerful anti-convulsants, a few rays of light penetrated that awful gloom.

One of those bright moments came when then-colleague, Ginna Baldessare asked me if she could wear my name on her jersey during a team fundraising ride for Lance Armstrong’s Livestrong Challenge. Her cycling club, Team Spike, was organized with a goal of raising $10,000 for cancer research.

It’s hard to communicate how much out-of-the-blue gestures like that mean to someone who is down, bewildered and clutching at very thin straws, trying to understand what’s just happened. Knowing that someone cares is an amazing gift for someone who is struggling with a life-altering event.

Team Spike is holding a fundraiser tonight, and they’ve asked me to speak, a task that I will willingly do. Team Spike and angels like Ginna should hear just how much their efforts mean. I’m offering a signed copy of the limited edition book N Judah (photos I took while commuting to radiation therapy) and the first set of artist’s proofs for the Ameugny suite for the silent auction…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, My Brain, New Life, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Team Spike and me

  1. Ann Salisbury says:

    My heart goes out to you Chris. I haven’t seen to many posts by you lately, so I was wondering how you were and what was happening. Thanks for sharing this. You’re a brave soul, and one I greatly admire. Keep on truckin’, and shooting, too!

  2. Hello Chris.
    I was so honored to meet you last weekend and was shocked to learn of your struggle. I knew you had some difficulties but you carried on with such grace and with such good cheer that mostly I was unaware of any limitations.

    David and I wish you and Linda all the best and we’re sending good strong energy to you for your health and to the doctors to find a good cure.

    Bless you both.

  3. Sherilyn says:

    We are looking forward to hearing you tonight, seeing some of your photos and I’m personally looking forward to bidding on the proof set πŸ™‚

  4. Laura says:

    Thanks for speaking last night at the Team Spike dinner Chris, and for sharing your beautiful photos!

  5. Sherilyn says:

    It was wonderful to meet you last night! You were ‘witty, inspiring and brief’ as your lovely wife instructed πŸ˜‰ – emphasis on the inspiration part. Thank you for your time and for your photographic donations (esp. the proofs I won!!).

Leave a Reply

