"That's the man I fell in love with"

chris_1980(?)_220px.jpgOr so says spouse Linda, calling this a ‘scary photo,’ which dates from 1980 I think. I came across it while scanning in some old photos at the garage operation this afternoon.

The photo was in the same box with pictures of a young Bruce Springsteen performing at the Whiskey A Go Go, and a newspaper clip featuring my photo of Richard Avedon.

Funny that Linda thinks I was scary in the beard. When I cut the beard some years later, she wasn’t sure she liked what she saw then, either. Now I’m not allowed to even discuss growing it back…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to "That's the man I fell in love with"

  1. Beth Foote says:

    Is that you in there, Chris?! Love it! Beth

  2. Mike Ridey says:

    First thought was “Rasputin!” I’m sure you’re not an evil monk, however. (Right?)

  3. Chris Gulker says:

    No way, Jose (er, Miguel)… just because I was poisoned (an accident), shot (happens all the time here out West) and thrown into a sub-zero river with a weight around my neck (case of mistaken identity) doesn’t mean a thing.

    Yeah, OK, so I hang around with French monks occasionally. No big deal. Lots of people do. So, stop the ‘evil’ rumors already. Whodayathinkiyam, Dick Cheney? Sheesh!

  4. Dana Rasmussen says:

    Might be a bit earlier than 1980. I don’t remember the full beard at Franks.

  5. cg says:

    Beard came a bit later I think, Dana. Weren’t we at Frank’s around 1975-76?

    Any news on the Frank’s gang front? I remember media reports about Frank being indicted for toxic dumping out at the Ranch (I do remember the babe-in-bikini-and-cowboy-hat shoots that attracted lots of Frank’s customers) a long time ago, but otherwise clueless…

  6. Nancy Walsworth says:

    Is that really you in there?? Linda must have fallen in love with your warm heart and sparkling personality…!

  7. Matthew Dutton-Gillett says:

    Well, it is hard to believe that’s you. However, as a beard-wearer myself, I would defend your right to grow it back! Of course, that means nothing whatsoever to Linda, I’m sure. I wouldn’t say you looked scary; perhaps “on the edge” would capture it better.

  8. Dana Rasmussen says:

    I was there 7 years until 79. God 30 years ago. You wised up and got out sooner, but then ended up tending bar at the Loch Ness Monster, and Chromos (that was the name of the place?) for a few years before getting a real job.
    As of a couple of years ago, Franks is still there. When I wandered in, it was Frank, Vera, Jana, and two St Bernards. There was stock that looked like it was left over from when we were there. Topcon gear?
    Very weird.

  9. Roger says:

    A young (like really young) Jerry Garcia? But never mind the beard, check out that way cool shirt! Am sure they have that same shirt down at American Apparel!

Leave a Reply

