Am I nuts?

Short answer: yes! I spent another four hours getting Windows 7 to install on my Intel Xeon-based computer.

True it’s a Mac, and true, I’m installing under a brand-spanking new version of VMware (3.0), but it shouldn’t be this hard. A lot of the problems stem from Microsoft’s brain-dead approach to software – compared to the laughably simple $29.95 Snow Leopard upgrade to Mac OS X, the $129 (‘beta-testers discount’) Windows 7 upgrade is just a nightmare.

For one thing, it refuses to upgrade to 64-bit because my XP install is 32-bit (as were most initial XP installs – it’s 2 revs back, remember) even though I have 64-bit hardware, I have to install 32-bit Win 7. The installer looks at the previous OS, not the hardware. Sound like an informed, forward-looking choice to you? We think not.

The good news is that we now have Windows 7 running on our Mac. It’s just fine, unless of course, you’d like to connect to the Internet. Win 7 can’t find my network interface (funny, my XP VM can find it, and of course Mac OS X can find it) but oh well – maybe another 4 hours or so and we’ll have a bona fide OS that can help us do some actual work.

Win 7, BTW, looks a lot like Vista and XP, with the usual, random GUI changes here and there, and yet another re-shuffle of the start menu. Laughably, ‘Connect to a projector’ is the #2 item, and this on an OS that installed on workstation/server-grade hardware. While we’ve all watched Windows laptop-toters struggle for 30 minutes to get an image on a conference-room projector the installer should know that laptops don’t have 8 processor cores, as does my machine.

Otherwise, Win 7 is another warmed-over Windows ‘upgrade,’ complete with the need for all new drivers – every peripheral I have that worked under XP – printer, scanners, camera, external drives have, of course, stopped working in Windows 7. Makes us wish Google would hurry up with their ‘Chrome OS’ or whatever they’re calling it…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Am I nuts?

  1. Stuart Rosenberg says:

    Chris- Snow Leopard isn’t perfect either. There is no driver for my HP network printer. Stuart

  2. Beth Ann Daye says:

    And tell me again why you want Windows7 on your Mac? I remember you had a reason….

Leave a Reply

