Hallelujah, brothers and sisters!

Saints be praised! A mere 10 or so hours into the travails of installing the new ‘easy’  Windows 7 (“Trust us” sayeth Microsoft, as did Cain speak to Abel), we now have (Amen! Shout Amen!) a working version of Windows 7 that can – be ye amazed – access the internet – and, yea, event print the scriptures and holy screeds that cometh upon our dual displays.

Though we walked through the shadow of the valley of the Windows installer (Shout ‘Brain Dead’ unto the heavens my brethren!), Mac OS X and VMware Fusion 3.0 have walked by our side, keeping us, verily, from going totally postal while we were aflicted with the slings and arrows of a thousand dependencies, mostly having to do with ‘no genuine Windows installed.’  Why our gods choose not to recognize our perfectly legal (and expensive) Windows XP install, nor our NIC or common peripherals, we know not. Surely we are being tested by a greater power, and we trust we shall not be found wanting.

Truly I say to you, no greater friend is there than VMware tech support and Forums, who, despite their name, actually labor long into the night solving not the problems of their own tribe, but those of Microsoft. Yea, that same kingdom of Balmer, he who screameth, and sweateth, mightily, as recorded in the Book of YouTube.

As it is written in The Manual: “Blessed are they who solve install issues, for they shall gain traction among the faithful.” And, yea, verily, the faithful immediately downloaded Google Chrome and made it the ‘defaulteth’ browser…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hallelujah, brothers and sisters!

  1. Beth Ann Daye says:

    I’ve been a FireFox user for years and like it fine, but what is this Google Chrome? Is it a new browser? Do you like it compared to FireFox. Is it only for Mac?

    Congrats on getting the dreaded “7” loaded. We’re afraid to upgrade from XP on our PCs.

  2. Mike Ridey says:

    You’re scaring me, Chris! I’ve hoped that Windows 7 would be the vaccine against Vista, but maybe not so much? And I’ve got a free upgrade on the way from the Dread Pirate Dell. Pray for me.

  3. John says:

    Seen the new “Trust me” Mac ad? It is hilarious.

  4. cg says:

    Looking at and listening to Steve Balmer makes me wonder why I would ever buy anything from that company, and Win 7 is my penance for doing just that. Yuk… what a mess. Beta Linux distro installers are often easier and more well thought out than the latest offering from Redmond.

    But ’tis holier to stop grousing and get back to Mac OS X. Trust me.

  5. Pingback: Fique por dentro Brothers and Sisters » Blog Archive » Hallelujah, brothers and sisters!

  6. Mark says:

    Been an XP man for years (Win2k before that), also get along well with Ubuntu whenever I have to. I hate Vista even more than I hate Mac OS X and spammers. However, just bought a (64bit I5) lappy with Win 7 Home Premium installed and much as I hate to admit it, I really like it. I’ve had no trouble adapting to it, it doesn’t nag me and I like the navigation. Also, I love the aero peek and all the mouse gesture stuff and it doesn’t seem to be too bloated and processor intensive either.

    Have to agree with you about Steve Balmer though, he’s definitely a palpable “pole polisher” (come back Bill all is forgiven).

Leave a Reply

