Scott, to the rescue

scott_portola1knees_mudWe managed to hit the deck again this morning, while on a lovely walk in Portola Valley with Scott and Linda. Linda, largely recovered from her Achilles tendon surgery had power-walked on ahead of us.

Scott was trying out his cool new compact Canon as we made our way up Alpine road, on a trail that has some very pretty stretches. Paced by Scott, I knocked 5 minutes off my time of last week, and was moving along nicely, thank you.

That is, until, only a hundred yards or so from our destination at Mike’s Cafe, I somehow managed to crash into a muddy sticker patch at the side of trail. Scott very patiently stood by as I gathered my feet under me, offering helpful tugs and pulls, until I could get into a position to pull myself up on Scott’s arm.

Scott, of course, is recovering from rotator cuff surgery, so it was a case of the one-armed man trying to pull a one-legged guy off the ground – the YouTube video would have been comical. Linda came upon the scene just us as I struggled up, and asked, helpfully, what I had been looking for on the ground. Such wit, dear…truly, I am blessed…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Dawn Community, My Brain, New Life, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

