plze, can i has pixels?

oak-txpFriend Scott pinged us on @dailyshoot today. Today’s assignment was “crisp black and white,” so I cheated and submitted a photo I took some 11 months ago in light that was very similar to that which existed on scene (my driveway) about this time last year. Nevertheless, I received a very nice response from someone at The Daily Shoot.

Which left us stuck deciding whether today was a good day, or a bad one. It started badly at the gym, where, on the treadmill of all things, my left foot somehow caught the belt and dragged me to my knees. Fortunately, I religiously use that little safety clip that everybody else at the gym ignores – it’s on a string attached to a little magnet labelled “Stop.” Yank the string, the magnet pops off its seat, and the machine grinds to a halt.

Which fortunately, is exactly how things unfurled today. Logistics at the Page Mill Y are such that the area behind the treadmills is carpeted with the fans that many members adjust to provide a cooling breeze as they grind away on one or another aerobic device. Collectively, these things constitute a minefield for those of us of the hemiplegic persuasion.

This time, unlike last week’s crash, I was up and on my feet and had reset the treadmill before my gym mates could rush to the (mortifying) rescue. I then did 20 more minutes on the treadmill, extending it a couple times in case anyone was looking, before doing 45 minutes on the weight machines, and then 10 more minutes on the treadmill, just to be sure, before leaving. Feeling that I didn’t have to slink out this time around…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, My Brain, New Life, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to plze, can i has pixels?

  1. Wow! You do quite a workout routine. I’d say you never have to slink out of the gym at any time.

    Also, thank for telling my about the magnetic kill-switch. I’ve seen it on the side of the treadmill but no one had even told me what it was for. Now I will investigate further. It sounds like a great idea to me.

Leave a Reply

