Bloggers flock to sunrise, some wirelessly

menlo_dawn_lgSunrise was pretty in Menlo Park this morning, and at least three of us bloggers captured the event.

Linda snapped her shot from the bank of Lake Lagunita with Lumio, her Panasonic point-and-shoot. “It’s the best shot of the bunch,” (meaning her, Scott and me), she announced before publishing it on Gimpy and Grumpy, indeed, a lovely photo, dear.

Scott, meanwhile, snapped the very early moments of the event with his iPhone, and had published it instantly on Facebook, and, almost before I poured his coffee post-walk on InMenlo using the WordPress iPhone app.

My photo, taken in the vicinity of my favorite Menlo mud puddle, was waiting for me by the time I sat down at my computer, thanks to the Eye-Fi card in my Nikon and the home wireless network, though I used old-school workflow thereafter (MarsEdit). I want to try the Nuance app to see if I can dictate posts… though Scott says talking to a robot is a different experience from composing on the keyboard…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Dawn Community, New Life, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bloggers flock to sunrise, some wirelessly

  1. Timbo says:

    I like yours the best Chris ! Terrific reflection work there.

  2. Lamar says:

    I remain in awe of the technological leaps forward currently underway in the world of Facebook, mobile phones with cameras, digital cameras in general. And which you appear perfectly comfortable. I did upload 4 photos into Facebook a few days ago and it only took…oh never mind. But I enjoy your photos with commentary and will enroll in digital catchup courses on the web. I will follow your lead.

  3. cg says:

    Kind words, Timbo, but that’s an old press photog trick to add snap to an otherwise ho-hum shot. In the old days, I would have positioned the camera about a foot lower and the puddle would have looked like a lake. Price of geezerdom…

    Lamar, you can learn all of this stuff if you keep at it, but at some point you gotta wonder “Why?”

    I think you got it right – and hope you’re enjoying sunset dinners up in Sea Ranch…

  4. John Getze says:

    aces.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Do we all have to be Scott’s friends to read gulker.com now?

Leave a Reply

