Bloggus interuptus

It’s true, we’ve been a bit lax on gulker.com’s updates lately. Part of it is that I’m busy blogging for InMenlo, where I have to please a tough editor (get me rewrite!) with both words and pictures. InMenlo is also growing rapidly, and great post ideas are beginning to flow as our community network grows, which is keeping me busy. I like it, but don’t tell the editor – she’ll just send me out on more assignments.

Indeed, I’ve noted a couple of times how much I love being back out on the streets taking pictures and interviewing people, though I am much slower than I once was, if only because I walk so much more haltingly than was once the case. Nevertheless,  I’ve managed to put together lightweight gear that makes the most of what capabilities I have. More importantly I’ve had to adjust my style, and expectations. I’m more static than I once was, which means planning and thinking through pictures beforehand. As I work more, I’m developing a few techniques that are manageable and result in (hopefully) compelling pictures.

A small Olympus digital voice recorder has joined my camera bag, a new friend that goes along with my Nikon, capturing the chatter as I try to put my photo subjects at ease. With my Bose headphones on, I now write posts and edit pictures from wherever there’s WiFi. I started this post at Peet’s then moved to the patio at gulker.com World HQ after a dense morning fog lifted, revealing the sun, and now, a balmy afternoon…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, New Life, Photos, Weblogging. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bloggus interuptus

  1. Anonymous says:

    No Inmenlo news on our hero executive’s latest plane crash. That brought internet traffic to a halt as well as knocking out Palo Alto for a day. If Tesla executives insist on spending our electric car grants on private planes, they should at least crash them into the bay or just call them executive perk grants.

Leave a Reply

