Integrated

ipad_kitchen
Few gizmos have become a part of my life as quickly as the iPad. Here you see it in my kitchen, on the cookbook holder, with a recipe from Sunday’s Chronicle (pork tenderloin with grapefruit and greens). The screen is even grubbier than most iPads, sporting olive oil and other cooking gunk, a sign of the machine’s integration into my daily routine (the Epicurious recipe app, Epi, is very cool, too).

Many days it replaces the MacBook Air in my backpack, a surprisingly welcome loss of one pound. Despite the billing as a media consumption device, it’s pretty good at media creation as well, as long as we’re talking text, as in blog posts. We are working on a way, using a wireless Eye Fi Card to get around iPad’s shortcomings in the pixel arena.

I even use it when I’m working at my desktop – even with 2 monitors, it’s handy to leave the email client running on the iPad, freeing screen real estate, and allowing me to focus on the task at hand. Pretty much anywhere I have a lap or tabletop – and WiFi – available, the iPad is now a player…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, Apple, Photos, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Integrated

  1. Dale Holmgren says:

    Thank you Chris for the nice writeup you did on my brother Bob in InMenlo.

    He recently bought an Ipad himself and is as taken with it as you are.

Leave a Reply

