Aw, they noticed…

Aw, they noticed...Linda came back from the mailbox this afternoon and flashed this month’s Scientific American cover. “Look, hon, they’ve dedicated a whole issue to you!”

True, I’ve been a subscriber for more than 30 years, but no, this isn’t a celebration of all things Gulker.

Last month SciAm did “Origins,” so it would follow that we’d do endings this month. Tagline reads “The eternal fascinations – and surprising upsides – of endings.”

We’re waiting for the “surprising upsides”…

About Chris Gulker

Chris Gulker, a self-described Infuential Blogger, lived in Menlo Park, California with spouse Linda. He passed away in late October 2010.
This entry was posted in All, My Brain, New Life, The countdown. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Aw, they noticed…

  1. Matthew D-G says:

    I’m glad you two are preserving your sense of humor….. And here’s to “surprising upsides”!

  2. Cathy Healy says:

    Ah, Chris,
    You and Linda have spent too much time in newsrooms. You know how to hold an audience — always surprise ’em. You must have a lot of us checking every day to see what is happening next. I can’t be the only one who sucked air this morning and then laughed out loud. Not the stupid little snicker, lol, but LOLOLOLOLOL!!
    I see you’ve posted 2x today, which means now you’ll have us checking in at gulker.com as often as we hit news.google or CNN.
    Here’s my take on smit. Smitted reminds me of texted. Both sound like duh, like you’re being a bit duh-dumb when you say them.
    Here’s what I’m learning from you about dying. I cared deeply about Mario and his death and I care deeply about yours. But this time, my feelings are total, not hidden and blocked like with him. This time, I weep. This time I want you to hang on for a few more days, for more exchange of ideas — I was counting on you to get a 12-core and tell me if it really is faster — and I want more laugher, and more thoughts about God. You’re like a month of Sundays that I want to last forever.

  3. Cathy Healy says:

    Hey, Chris,
    Mis-spelled smite.
    Missed clarity on my point. What I have learned from you because of this blog is that you don’t have to separate when you are forced to separate. You and Linda are holding us close. Ordinarily, I would have grieved when I heard your bad news, and stuffed my feelings. Instead, your strength and openness makes it okay for me to feel the whole range of feelings, too. Thank you both.

  4. Well, this one brought me to tears. We received our “Sci-Am” too today. Each of the comments here brought more tears.

    I know I’m really selfish but I want you to keep writing also, and forever. Yours and Linda’s heart and thoughtfulness is sorely needed. I’ve heard it said that all grief for a dearly departed is selfishness because the one who is departed is better off. I don’t know…

    But I do know that the sharing you’ve been doing in your blog is one of the greatest gifts I’ve ever seen and I thank you.

    I’m so glad that David and I got to meet you (or re-meet as the case may be) a little over a year ago. It was especially special that we got to eat at the same table, indeed you and I were side by side. Immediately I knew you to be someone I would like to know better and through the wonder of electronic media, I have learned that you are what I hoped you would be and so much more and so is lovely Linda.

    I am constantly sending you good ju-ju and I suspect you’re not at “The End” yet.

    Love you both.
    Beth

Leave a Reply

